Dr. Ravindra Dholakia

A-1, 302, Meadows

Professor (Retired), IIM-Ahmedabad

Professor Ravindra H. Dholakia, Ph.D. (M.S.University of Baroda), Post-Doctoral Fellow (University of Toronto)

Professor Dholakia joined IIM Ahmedabad in September 1985 and retired in April 2018. He received the Most Distinguished Faculty Award for the year 2017-18 at IIMA. He has about 42 years of experience of teaching Economics to different groups like students, executives, policy makers and senior government officers. Currently, he has been on the Monetary Policy Committee of India (2016 onwards). He was a member of the Sixth Central Pay Commission (2006-08); and of High Level Committees on Leveraging Postal Network in India (2014), HR Issues in the Merger of Air India and Indian Airlines (May 2011- Jan.2012), Public Expenditure Management (2009-10), and on Savings and Investment Estimation (2008-09) appointed by the Government of India; a Member of the Expert Committee on Restructuring of the State Public Sector Units (2004-08), the Public Debt Management Committee (2005-06), and the State Public Finance Reform Committee (1998 – 2000) appointed by the Government of Gujarat.  He has recently chaired a Committee on Financial Sector Statistics (2016-18) and is currently chairing a Committee on Sub-National Accounts appointed by the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Government of India (2018 onwards) and had chaired a Committee on Cost Saving and Resource Use Optimization in Air India, appointed by Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India (2013). He has written about 49 monographs, 23 books, and more than 140 research papers published in journals of national and international repute. He has guided 39 students successfully and 2 students are currently working under him for doctoral degree. He has served as an independent director on the Boards of several public and private sector companies in India. He is also on the Board of Governors of several academic and research Institutes. He presided over the Indian Health Economics and Policy Association during 2012-13 and is elected unanimously the President of The Indian Econometric Conference for 2019-20.